My apology to sports

Published August 13, 2011 by Charlotte

I want to make a formal, in-your-face apology to all the sports teams that I claim to be a fan of.  Yes.  Claim.  (See below).

For as long as I can remember I have been a Carolina Tarheels, Pittsburgh Steelers, NY Yankees and Penske Racing fan. I don’t know what drew me to most but I’ve been unwavering even in the awful seasons. {No bandwagon here.}

I started liking UT Vols after falling in love with this great state. {Bandwagon}. Yes. Even in the awful-awful seasons. 

I don’t have a fave Pro Basketball team. I loved MJ, Rodman, Bird, Barkley, O’Neill… The greats. #likeeverybody.   Except Shaq should’a stuck with basketball.  meh. 

I must also confess that a lot of what sports {or lack of} has depended a lot on who my house mate(s) were at the time. 

I don’t mean to, really. I want to like sports more. I like sports. I collected basketball, baseball and football cards in grade school. {Gave them to Mr. Fox when we graduated 8th grade. I know. I’m a dumbass.}

I want to be excited that football is a GO! *wwwuuuu*  sigh. Nothing. Although, I am excited for the Super Bowl, which is kinda like the Bristol night race; a do not miss!!  Last year was a lot of fun. {I don’t remember anything previous than that, sorry. Limited space up here.}.

Oh, and when, in like 7th grade, we made those wooden cars in shop class.  Yeah, I painted mine Carolina Tarheels Blue.  Sure did. It was Awesome. 

When in 2005 Carl Edwards came on the scene I jumped ship from Penske to follow Carl to Roush.  I like Roush. Or rather, I don’t dislike them.  And who doesn’t love a Mustang?  Shelby GT 500.  65.  So without another thought I slapped a 99 on my back window and a racing we go. 

So what got this whole thing started?  Well.  Carl’s contract came up for renewal.  He’s a successful driver so another establishment was trying to woo him away.  I’ve been staunch in my disapproval of his leaving Roush.  Not so much because of a loyalty to Roush as it was the other team’s drivers.  I didn’t want those people to be Carl’s team mates. {Hater! Right here! No bandwagon.}.  He’s since signed a multi-year deal with Roush.  All is well in the world.  Or is it?  I start to question my loyalty today. Is it that I’m loyal to Carl?  I never said if I could/would follow him if he left.  Or should my loyalty be with Roush?  I’m not such a big fan of the team mates he has now.  Should I have stayed loyal to Penske?  I’m not diggin’ his drivers either.  Soooo “this” spiraled out to my questioning of my loyalties to all sports teams.

The End.

Comments?

Happy Harvest Farm

Happy about living naturally

Randomness is Queen

the secret menu

camera experiments in the kitchen

JannaTWrites

Writing in the corner (of my cluttered mind)

