Someone asked “Whats your Fave Sporting Event”

Published February 1, 2011 by Charlotte

SFA @ Bristol Motor Speedway

I grew up in North Carolina, which most folks know is Nascar Country. "The King" Richard Petty brought one of his race cars to my grade school for show and tell. It went over better than even the Fire Truck.

In the 90's, after having moved to the Eastern part of Tennessee, I was invited by a co-worker to the August race at Bristol Motor Speedway. Of course I said "um sure". haha. *psych* I totally geeked out. I fretted over what to wear, what to take w/me, what to eat, the weather… and all for naught. The weather was perfect (even quite warm), I wore a sundress w/a separate little jacket which turned out was the perfect attire, we ate cold KFC. I dont remember who sang the National Anthem but the entire time I had goosebumps. Then the jets flew over… whhooosshhh… so loud and majestic. And to hear all of my 86,000 fellow Nascar fans screaming in what is essentially a bowl…. was both scary & awe inspiring. Oh and did I say my favorite driver won. (Shout out to Rusty Wallace) Can you say (in a sing song voice) Puurrffeeccckkkttt?!

Fast forward… bbzzurp… 2011. I live in West Tennessee and sadly they've stopped the Nascar Nationwide series races we went to yearly. (@#$^&!) But most Saturdays and almost every Sunday if you drive by our house, much like back in the 70's, you'll hear a Nascar race blaring from the (now Sirius) radio or streaming on the Telly.

In less than 2 weeks the Daytona 500 starts up a new Nascar season. Every single race after they sing the National Anthem, and the jets fly overhead I get goose bumps. That… is pretty freakin' awesome.

Powered by Plinky

Comments?

Happy Harvest Farm

Happy about living naturally

Randomness is Queen

the secret menu

camera experiments in the kitchen

